

Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda Mandau October 14, 2024

Monday, October 14, 2024

2:00 – 3:55 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom

Meeting ID: 898 0068 0414 Passcode: 235970

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2024-25 Executive Committee Members (31): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Nate Vennarucci, vacant; BSS: Mona Rawal, Julie Jenkins; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Fatima Jinnah; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Hilary Gomes, Eric Kuehnl; HSH: Lydia Daniel, vacant; KA: Don Mac Neil, Katy Ripp; LA: Ulysses Acevedo, Hilda Fernandez; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; Rachel Mudge; PT Reps: Michael Chang, Lynette Vega; Other Members: ASFC: Paulo Verzosa; Classified: Doreen Finkelstein; FacAssoc: Jordana Griffiths; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of Teaching with Technology: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator: vacant; Faculty serving other roles: Evan Gilstrap Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

10.14.24 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	Supporting
						Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:05	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:10	Public Comment on items not on agenda (Senate cannot discuss or take action)****	I			
5	2:15	Approval of 09.30.24 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• <u>September 30,</u> <u>2024</u>
6	2:30	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent Calendar
7	2:35	ASFC President Updates to the Academic Senate	I	ASFC President to share current student issues	Verzosa	
8	2:40	Implementation of Fathom AI Notetaker for Senate Meetings	I,D	Discuss an AI Notetaker to enhance meeting efficiency, improve record-keeping, and streamline the creation of meeting minutes	Cormia, Kaupp	
9	2:45	Locking Doors Resolution	D	Review and adopt a resolution advocating for college and district administration to prioritize the installation of user-operable locks on office and classroom doors from the inside	Marasco, Morriss	Locking Doors Resolution
10	3:00	Break				
11	3:05	AY 2024-25 Senate Priorities	I,D,A	Discuss the priorities for the Academic Senate's work in the 2024-2025 academic year	Villanueva	• <u>Draft of Priorities</u>
12	3:20	Foothill College ZTC Course Conversion Stipend Program Proposal	I,D	Discuss and obtain feedback on the proposed Zero-Textbook-Cost (ZTC) Course Conversion Stipend Program, aimed at incentivizing faculty to adopt, adapt, or create open educational resources,	Rivera	ZTC Stipend Program Proposal
13	3:30	Reimagining Student Learning	I,D	Discuss a comprehensive strategy	Kaupp,	

		Outcomes Assessment	for Student Learning Outcomes assessment that enhances educational effectiveness, ensures accreditation compliance, and aligns with our institution's mission and vision.	
14	3:40	Officer & Committee Reports		Kaupp, Meezan, Villanueva

Standing Items						
15	3:50	Announcements and for the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В		All	Undocumented Student Action Week
16	3:55	Close of meeting	В		Villanueva	

^{*}Times are approximate

10.14.24 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	10.14.24 Consent Calendar

CALENDAR OF 2024-2025 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS

Fall 2024 Quarter	Winter 2025 Quarter	Spring 2025 Quarter
September 30	January 13	April 7
October 14	January 27	April 21
October 28	February 10	May 5
November 4	February 24	May 19
November 18	March 10	June 2
December 2	March 17	June 16 (retreat)

Remote Attendance Locations:

1. 76 Southgate Court, San Jose, CA 95138

2. 72 Pope Road, La Honda, CA 94020

DISTRIBUTION:

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); vacant (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Stephanie Crosby (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Peter Landsberger (President, Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee); Doreen Finkelstein (Classified Senate President); Anu Khanna (Interim Vice Chancellor, Organizational Effectiveness and Engagement); Chris Dela Rosa (Vice Chancellor, Business Services); Dianna Rose (Vice Chancellor, Human Resources & Equal Opportunity); Jory Hadsell (Vice Chancellor, Technology);

^{**}Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action

^{***}Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

^{****}At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is not on the agenda. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.