

# Foothill College Academic Senate Executive Committee Meeting Agenda

# Monday, September 30, 2024

2:00 – 3:55 p.m. in the Krause Center for Innovation (4006) and Zoom

Meeting ID: 898 0068 0414 Passcode: 235970

Dial by your location: (669) 900-6833 or (408) 638-0968

2024-25 Executive Committee Members (29): Officers: Voltaire Villanueva (President), Patrick Morriss (Executive Vice President), Ben Kaupp (Vice President of Curriculum), Robert Cormia (Secretary/Treasurer), Senators by division: APPR: Nate Vennarucci, vacant; BSS: Mona Rawal, Julie Jenkins; CNSL: Tracee Cunningham, Fatima Jinnah; DRC/VRC: Ana Maravilla; FA/Comm: Hilary Gomes, Eric Kuehnl; HSH: vacant, vacant; KA: Rita O'Loughlin, Katy Ripp; LA: Ulysses Acevedo, Hilda Fernandez; LRC: Destiny Rivera, Eric Reed; STEM: Sara Cooper; Rachel Mudge; PT Reps: Michael Chang, Lynette Vega; Other Members: ASFC: Paulo Verzosa; Classified: Doreen Finkelstein; FacAssoc: Jordana Griffiths; Prof. Dev.: Carolyn Holcroft; Chair of Teaching with Technology: Allison Lenkeit Meezan; Student Learning Outcomes Coordinator(s): vacant Dean of Equity: Ajani Byrd; President's Cabinet: Stacy Gleixner;

#### 9.30.24 AGENDA:

#	Time*	Topic	Action**	Objective	Presenter	•
						Materials***
1	2:00	Call to Order	В		Villanueva	
2	2:00	Roll Call	В		Cormia	
3	2:15	Adoption of Agenda	В		Villanueva	
4	2:20	Public Comment on items not on	- 1			
		agenda (Senate cannot				
		discuss or take action)****				
5	2:25	Approval of 6.03.24 Minutes	В		Villanueva	• June 3, 2024
6	2:30	Approval of Consent Calendar	В		Villanueva	See Consent
						Calendar
7	2:35	ASFC President Updates to the	- 1	ASFC President to share current	Verzosa	
		Academic Senate		student issues		
8	2:40	Brown Act Basics	1	Review the essential principles and	Villanueva	• Brown Act Slide
				legal requirements of the Brown		<u>Deck</u>
				Act		
9	2:55	Break				
10	3:00	Shared Governance	I	Review the principles and	Kaupp,	Governance Basics
				processes of shared governance	Morriss,	Slide Deck
					Villanueva	
11	3:20	Executive Committee	Α	Review the Academic Senate	Cormia,	• The Academic
		Responsibilities Post-Ratification		Constitution, which was voted on and ratified by the faculty in Spring	Morriss,	Senate Constitution
				2024	Villanueva	
12	3:25	Adopt Bylaws	Α	Review and approve the finalized	Morriss	Academic Senate
	0.20	, ,		version of the Senate bylaws,		Bylaws
				ensuring that all necessary		
				amendments and provisions have		
				been incorporated.		
13	3:35	Locking Doors Resolution	D	Review and adopt a resolution	Marasco,	<ul> <li>Locking Doors</li> </ul>
				advocating for college and district	Morriss	Resolution
ļ				administration to prioritize the installation of user-operable locks		
				on office and classroom doors		
ļ				from the inside		
14	3:40	RSI training: Part 1 & Part 2 status	1	Provide an update on the	Meezan	

	completion status of Part 1 and Part 2 of the Regular and Substantive Interaction (RSI) training, discuss any challenges faced, and outline next steps to ensure compliance with RSI	
	requirements.	

Stand	Standing Items					
15	3:50	Announcements and for the good of the order (the Senate cannot take action)	В	Al	All	<ul> <li>September OERI         Newsletter</li> <li>October OERI         Newsletter</li> <li>Transfer Fair         Transfer         Application         Assistance</li> </ul>
16	3:55	Close of meeting	В	Vi	/illanueva	

<sup>\*</sup>Times are approximate

## 9.30.24 CONSENT CALENDAR:

#	Action	Supporting Notes/Materials
1	Approve Senate Appointments	09.30.24 Consent Calendar

## **CALENDAR OF 2024-2025 REGULAR ACADEMIC SENATE MEETINGS**

Fall 2024 Quarter	Winter 2025 Quarter	Spring 2025 Quarter
September 30	January 13	April 7
October 14	January 27	April 21
October 28	February 10	May 5
November 4	February 24	May 19
November 18	March 10	June 2
December 2	March 17	June 16 (retreat)

#### **Remote Attendance Locations:**

1. 5650 Riggins Ct # 200, Reno, NV 89502

2. 275 Ramsell Street, San Francisco CA 94132

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate; Kristina Whalen (President); Bret Watson (VP Finance & Admin); Laurie Scolari (VPSS); Simon Pennington (AVP Communications); Teresa Ong (AVP Workforce & CTE); Stacy Gleixner (VPI); Kurt Hueg (AVPI); vacant (Marketing); Valerie Fong (Dean LA); Ron Herman (Dean FA/Comm); Aaron Korngiebel (Dean BSS); Mike Teijeiro (Dean KA); Stephanie Crosby (Dean DRC/VRC); Roosevelt Charles (Dean Counseling); Mark Barnes (Dean LRC); Zachary Cembellin (Dean STEM); Lene Whitley-Putz (Dean Online Learning); Catalina Rodriguez (Dean of Student Affairs); Anthony Cervantes (Dean of Enrollment); Elaine Kuo (Institutional Research); Evan Gilstrap (Articulation Officer); Daphne Small (Student Affairs); Mary Vanatta (Curriculum Coordinator); Tim Shively (FA); Amy Edwards (FA); Kathy Perino (FA); Kathryn Maurer (FHDA Academic Senate President); Erik Woodbury (De Anza AS); Peter Landsberger (President, Board of Trustees); Lee Lambert (FHDA Chancellor); Zara Ainge (Foothill Student Trustee); Doreen Finkelstein (Classified Senate President); Anu Khanna (Interim Vice Chancellor, Organizational Effectiveness and Engagement); Chris Dela Rosa (Vice Chancellor, Business Services); Dianna Rose (Vice Chancellor, Human Resources & Equal Opportunity); Jory Hadsell (Vice Chancellor, Technology);

<sup>\*\*</sup>Action Legend: **B**=Regular Senate business; **I**=Information sharing; **D**=Discussion with intent to act; **A**=Action

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Supporting Materials: Link to documents posted to the Academic Senate website

<sup>\*\*\*\*</sup>At this time, the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Academic Senate that is not on the agenda. Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President or designee. Comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members. Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public.